The name Uruguay means river of the colorful birds. It is a word in Guarani that was spoken by the natives of the area.

Uruguay La Mano

Uruguay is a country in the southeastern region of South America.
Capital: Montevideo
Land Area: 173,621 sq km
Total Area: 176,220 sq km
Population: 3,324,46 (2013)
Official language: Spanish
Demonym: Uruguayan
Currency: Uruguayan peso
Independence from: Empire of Brazil
Government: Unitary presidential constitutional republic
Calling Code: +598
A South American nation with a decidedly European feel, Uruguay used to be a destination known only to in-the-know travellers. Not anymore. While most come here to laze about on Uruguay's impeccable beaches and party late into the night, there's loads left over for more adventurous travellers to do far from the crowds. The inland areas are gaucho country and dotted with historical sites – particularly Colonia, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Whatever your particular pleasure, Uruguay delivers. Uruguay is home to numerous scenic shores, fishing and hunting areas, hot springs, horse and cattle ranches open for visitors, small towns rich in colonial and early national architectural heritage, and an extensive metropolitan area.


Uruguay map